News
LUXPOWER AUSTRALIA

Luxpower SNA5000: A Smart Choice for Off-Grid Living in Australia

If you are looking for a reliable and efficient off-grid or hybrid solar system, you might want to consider the Luxpower SNA5000 inverter. This inverter is designed to work with LiFePO4 batteries, which are known for their long lifespan, high safety, and low maintenance. In this blog post, we will review the features and benefits of the Luxpower SNA5000 inverter and explain why it is a smart choice for off-grid living in Australia.

This image is a great example of how an offgrid inverter works by storing the energy when the solar array is taking charge in the day time and the battery is discharging at night.

What is the Luxpower SNA5000 inverter?

The Luxpower SNA5000 is a 5kW 48V off-grid or hybrid inverter that can manage your entire solar system. It has two high-voltage MPPTs that can handle up to 6000W of PV input, and a wide PV input voltage range of 120-550V. It can also connect to the grid and use grid power to charge your batteries or supplement your loads when needed.

The Luxpower SNA5000 inverter is compatible with a wide range of lithium batteries, including LiFePO4 batteries from Lifepo4 Australia. LiFePO4 batteries are ideal for off-grid applications because they have a high energy density, a long cycle life, a low self-discharge rate, and a high tolerance to temperature variations. They are also safer than other types of lithium batteries because they do not catch fire or explode when overcharged or damaged.

The Luxpower SNA5000 inverter has an intelligent off-grid and hybrid mode that can automatically switch between different power sources according to your needs and preferences. You can set the priority of PV, battery, or grid power, and adjust the charging and discharging parameters of your battery. You can also use PV and AC power simultaneously to power your loads, which can reduce your dependence on the grid and save you money on electricity bills.

The Luxpower SNA5000 inverter is easy to use and monitor with its LCD display and free online monitoring platform. You can access real-time data and historical records of your system performance, battery status, load consumption, and environmental impact. You can also remotely upgrade your inverter firmware and receive alerts and notifications of any faults or errors.

The Luxpower SNA5000 inverter can also work in parallel with up to nine other units, giving you the flexibility to expand your system capacity up to 50kW. This feature is useful for larger installations or applications that require more power. The parallel connection is simple and stable, with no need for extra communication devices or cables.

Why choose the Luxpower SNA5000 inverter for off-grid living in Australia?

The Luxpower SNA5000 inverter is a smart choice for off-grid living in Australia because it offers several advantages over other inverters on the market. Here are some of the reasons why you should choose the Luxpower SNA5000 inverter for your off-grid or hybrid solar system:

  • It is compatible with LiFePO4 batteries from Lifepo4 Australia, which are durable, safe, and eco-friendly.
  • It has a high PV input capacity and a wide PV input voltage range, which allows you to use more solar panels and harvest more solar energy.
  • It has an intelligent off-grid and hybrid mode that can optimize your power usage and reduce your reliance on the grid.
  • It has a free online monitoring platform that lets you monitor and control your system remotely from anywhere.
  • It has an advanced parallel function that lets you scale up your system easily and cost-effectively.

How to buy the Luxpower SNA5000 inverter from Lifepo4 Australia?

If you are interested in buying the Luxpower SNA5000 inverter from Lifepo4 Australia, you can contact us through our website or phone number. We are a leading supplier of LiFePO4 batteries and inverters in Australia, with over 10 years of experience in the industry. We offer competitive prices, fast delivery, professional installation, and excellent after-sales service.

We can help you design and install a customized off-grid or hybrid solar system that suits your needs and budget. We can also provide you with technical support and advice on how to use and maintain your system properly. We are committed to providing you with quality products and services that will make your off-grid living more comfortable and sustainable.

So what are you waiting for? Contact us today and get ready to enjoy the benefits of the Luxpower SNA5000 inverter from Lifepo4 Australia!

News Blog
Hithium 280ah 12000 cycle LFP cells used in 400MWh The largest standalone battery storage project in China

The 200MW/400MWh battery energy storage system (BESS) is live in Ningxia, China, equipped with Hithium lithium iron phosphate (LFP) cells.

Established 3 years ago in 2019 is already ramping up to a target of more than 135GWh of annual battery cell production capacity by 2025 for a total investment value of about US$4.71 billion.

The project was connected to the grid earlier this month, through a system integrator called ROBESTEC, about which little information appears publicly available. However, it is understood that although Hithium makes and provides complete BESS solutions as well as cells, in this case, it was the cell supplier.

200MW/400MWh HITHIUM LFP BESS in China

China 400MWh Hithium 12000 cycle LFP Battery 1

The facility stores energy at times of abundant generation from solar PV and wind, putting it into the grid during times of peak demand. It will also help regulate grid frequency.

If you are interested in these new 280AH cells, which Hithium and CATL currently can produce specifically for ESS use, let us know, as we have access to the cells when the demand is slightly lower. As these are actually in high demand for commercial applications, and they technically are hard to get for the DIY community.

it’s expected this giant LFP battery will cut CO2 emissions by 501,000 tons per year

Hithium specializes in the R&D, production, and sales of LFP energy storage batteries and systems. With strong customer orientation, they are committed to providing safe, efficient, clean, and sustainable energy storage solutions for the world. Hithium now has over 4400 employees globally including over 1000 R&D engineers with extensive experience in energy storage. With a planned 4.71 billion USD total investment and 1,400,000m2 factory space to achieve 135GWh production capacity of the energy storage battery in 2025.

Xiamen Haichen New Energy Lithium Battery
Hithium-280ah-LFP280 12000 Cycles Storage Grade
280ah capacity test
Hithium_280ah_test_results

We delivered these cells in 2022 to a few customers and currently have a small shipment arriving again in February 2023. As they are an unknown brand to many customers, we haven’t ordered large quantities, because many customers still want EVE, CATL, LiShen, CALB, and various other brands they have heard of. It’s just not a well-known brand,

In the past was a bad thing, But with this type of new technology, sometimes it’s a great thing to get in early while you can.

Lithium Battery-school
Pylontech First Gen 8 years old – Lifepo4 with bad cells – Repaired

Model – Extra 2000 – First generation Pylontech Lifepo4 Battery

Thanks to Nicolas for making this video of his First generation Lifepo4 Battery repair.

Here we see an old Pylontech battery with a capacity of only 10% original capacity, and over the course of 2 youtube videos, Nicolas is able to cut out a couple of bad pouch cells and restore the battery to approx 80% again.
Well done Nicholas


Nicholas Howell
Youtube subs – 1.61K subscribers

Part 1

Part 2

News
Seplos Battery Australia

Seplos is a battery factory in China, alot like many other Alibaba sellers, they put together batteries. They sell a number of Batteries along with some DIY kits to make your life a little easier. The truth is, that although these KITS are easier, they work out a lot more expensive than if you just purchase the cells and the BMS and case yourself. They use B-grade cells, and you can find that information on some Youtube channels.

Should you want to choose Seplos, reach out to me and I can source anything you require. But my recommendation is to not choose Seplos for your next DIY project, as they are expensive for what you get, should you want to do DIY we can get everything you require for better pricing and we can guarantee the quality of the cells and other aspects of your build. We highly recommend not building anything larger than 48v 100ah banks as they get too heavy to be moved. That’s why every company has settled on such a size of 5kwh.

Some examples of their products are

  1. Seplos mason 206 51.2v 16s 206ah 10.5kwh solar energy storage lifepo4 battery pack
  2. PUSUNG-R 48V 100Ah residential solar power energy home battery storage system
  3. PUSUNG-S Stackable Household Lithium 48v 100ah lifepo4 10KWh
  4. MASON 51.2V 135Ah LiFePO4 Battery

And of course, we can help you to get this product. But even the BMS is cheaper than they are asking from the actual manufacturer, not through Seplos.

Seplos rose to fame because of the BMS, and its support for some Inverters on the DIYSOLARFORUM. However alot of time has now passed and almost all decent BMS can communicate with most inverters

News Home
LiFePO4 SOC: Voltage Charts, Charging & Battery Percentage

The practical battery reference

LiFePO4 SOC Voltage charts, charging & battery percentage explained.

LiFePO4 SOC means state of charge: the estimated percentage of charge remaining in your battery. A voltage reading helps, but it cannot reliably tell you that percentage through most of the battery’s range.

Use the rested voltage table for a quick reference, explore a measured test, or jump straight to monitor setup, charging and runtime.

A reading needs context

13.2 VHow full is that?

About halfway in our rested reference. Under load or while charging, the same number can tell a different story.

01 / The quick reference

LiFePO4 SOC voltage chart: rested battery

Use this as a practical orientation chart after charging and loads have stopped and the voltage has settled. These are the values from our rested SOC reference graphic. They are approximate, not charger targets or BMS protection settings.

Find your battery voltage

Approximate rested values
Approximate SOC4S / 12 V battery
100%13.60 V
90%13.40 V
80%13.32 V
70%13.28 V
60%13.24 V
50%13.20 V
40%13.16 V
30%13.12 V
20%13.00 V
10%12.72 V

Read the trend, not the last decimal

13.2 V is around halfway in this 12 V reference. It is not proof of 50% SOC. In the flat middle, a small change in voltage can cover a wide capacity range.

For example, this table places 80% at 13.32 V and 40% at 13.16 V. That is just 0.16 V across 40 percentage points. Load, temperature, recent charging and the particular cells can easily change the interpretation.

For an installed battery: use this chart as a sense check. Use calibrated BMS/shunt data for the percentage, and cell-level measurements and alarms for protection.

Before reading the table: confirm the series count, stop charging and loads, and allow voltage to settle. “48 V lithium” is not automatically 16S LiFePO4.

These lookup points are an approximate practical guide, without a published controlled rest-test dataset. Their SOC estimates will vary between batteries and conditions.

See why conditions matter

Now compare charging and discharging

The chart below uses Off-Grid Garage’s measured EVE MB31 test. Unlike the rested reference, current is flowing. Explore the curves to see why a voltage table needs context. [1]

One cell. Two very different curves.

EVE MB31 · 40 A test · cell and calculated pack voltages

Measured data
ChargingDischarging
Measured EVE MB31 charge and discharge curves scaled to a 4S battery. Voltage is nearly flat over much of the capacity range, and charging voltage is higher than discharge voltage.

How to read this: percentages are normalised to each test’s measured capacity. Discharge runs from right to left; charge runs left to right. Pack voltages are cell voltage × series count, not a separate pack test. This is a dynamic test, not a rested-voltage lookup for your battery. Temperature was not stated. See test conditions and method.

The useful lesson: in this discharge test, moving from 80% to 40% changed the cell voltage by only about 0.05 V—about 0.20 V for four identical cells. A small voltage difference can hide a large amount of remaining capacity.

Show measured discharge samples: 12 V, 24 V and 48 V

These are samples from the 40 A discharge test above. The percentages refer to remaining measured test capacity. They are included so you can inspect the data, not use it as a universal fuel gauge.

EVE MB31 test reference · calculated pack equivalents
Test %Cell4S / 12 V8S / 24 V16S / 48 V
100%3.611 V14.44 V28.89 V57.78 V
90%3.299 V13.20 V26.39 V52.78 V
80%3.297 V13.19 V26.38 V52.75 V
70%3.283 V13.13 V26.26 V52.53 V
60%3.262 V13.05 V26.10 V52.19 V
50%3.254 V13.02 V26.03 V52.06 V
40%3.247 V12.99 V25.98 V51.95 V
30%3.232 V12.93 V25.86 V51.71 V
20%3.203 V12.81 V25.62 V51.25 V
10%3.152 V12.61 V25.22 V50.43 V
0%2.510 V10.04 V20.08 V40.17 V

The 100% sample is near the start of discharge after charging; it is not a rested full-charge voltage. The 0% sample is near the test endpoint, not a recommended everyday shutdown setting. Values are rounded from the underlying samples.

UNDER LOAD

Voltage falls

An inverter or other load pulls the voltage down. A bigger load can make the same battery look emptier on a voltage-only display.

WHILE CHARGING

Voltage rises

The charger pushes voltage up. Reaching a particular voltage does not, by itself, prove that the battery is full.

AFTER RESTING

Voltage settles

A resting reading removes the immediate load or charge effect. The flat middle and charge history still make an exact percentage unreliable.

02 / The numbers that matter

SOC, capacity and runtime are different things

SOC is a percentage of a capacity estimate. If a battery really has 100 Ah available and its SOC estimate is correct, 50% represents about 50 Ah remaining. That is charge, not a promise of a particular number of hours.

A 100 Ah battery and a 300 Ah battery can both show 50%. The larger battery holds roughly three times as much charge. Likewise, 100 Ah at 51.2 V represents four times the nominal energy of 100 Ah at 12.8 V.

Battery health changes the size of the tank. An ageing battery can reach 100% SOC while storing less than it did when new. Its monitor needs a realistic capacity basis to keep that percentage useful.

SOCState of charge: how full the estimated capacity is.
AhAmp-hours: charge capacity. Compare at the same voltage.
WhWatt-hours: energy. Approximately nominal volts × amp-hours.
SOHState of health: condition relative to new. Capacity is one measure; resistance and power capability also matter.

Series adds voltage. Parallel adds amp-hours. Four 100 Ah cells in series make a nominal 12.8 V, 100 Ah battery—not 400 Ah. Four compatible 12.8 V, 100 Ah batteries in parallel make a nominal 12.8 V, 400 Ah bank.

The arithmetic does not mean any batteries can be connected together. Completed batteries must support the intended series/parallel arrangement. A “48 V” label alone also does not confirm 16S; some LFP systems are 15S.

What does “100%” actually mean?

For a monitor, 100% is a reference point established by its full-charge detection rules or a manual reset. For a capacity test, it is the starting point under a specified charge procedure. For a complete battery, displayed SOC can also include manufacturer-defined reserves.

Those definitions need not be identical. A display reaching 100% is not proof that every cell is balanced, and a battery showing 95% is not automatically missing 5% of its rated capacity. Look at the measurement method, actual charge completion and usable energy.

03 / Get a reading you can use

How to measure LiFePO4 SOC accurately

Use a monitor that measures battery current and counts charge in and out. That may be built into the BMS, or it may be a separate shunt. A communicating BMS is useful only when its measurements are sound and the inverter is actually using its SOC data.

1. Measure all battery currentSolar, alternator, mains charger, inverter and smaller DC loads must be included in the measurement.
2. Use the right capacityCheck the battery or bank’s Ah rating and configuration. Revisit it if a valid test shows meaningful capacity loss.
3. Establish true fullSynchronise after the battery completes its proper charge procedure. Then let the monitor count from that reference.
Conceptual diagram: battery current passes through a shunt to all loads and chargers. A BMS monitors cells and sends data and charge limits to a compatible inverter. A bypassed current path produces a wrong SOC estimate.
Two jobs: measure energy flow and protect the cells. A shunt provides current measurement; the BMS supplies cell-level protection. This is a functional diagram, not a wiring plan. Select the image to enlarge.

A common shunt mistake is an unmeasured connection. In a negative-side shunt installation, a load or charger connected directly to battery negative bypasses the measurement. The monitor cannot count what it cannot see. Victron’s installation instructions put all system negatives on the system side of the shunt. [2]

Why SOC drifts

Current measurement has a small error; the configured capacity may be imperfect; charging is not perfectly efficient. Those errors accumulate. For example, a constant 0.1 A measurement error over seven days equals 16.8 Ah. On a 100 Ah reference, that is 16.8 percentage points.

This is why a shunt is not “fit and forget”. It needs sensible settings and occasional reliable synchronisation. The worked example is arithmetic, not a claim about the accuracy of any specific monitor.

Do you need a separate shunt?

Already have a reliable BMS SOC reading? A second monitor is optional. It can be useful for checking the system, but two displays can disagree because their capacity settings or reset rules differ.

Only have a voltage-based percentage? A correctly installed current-counting monitor is a substantial improvement. This is especially useful where several chargers or DC loads sit outside the inverter’s own measurement.

Practical SmartShunt setup: what each setting does

For a Victron SmartShunt, use the current manual and your battery’s charge procedure. These controls have separate jobs: [3] [4]

  • Battery capacity: the Ah basis used to calculate percentage.
  • Charged voltage: the voltage condition for recognising full charge. It is not the charger’s voltage command.
  • Tail current: how low the current must fall while the voltage condition is met.
  • Charged detection time: how long those conditions must persist together.
  • Charge efficiency: compensation for the difference between charge put in and recovered.
  • Peukert exponent: correction for discharge-rate effects; Victron suggests 1.05 for lithium unless the supplier specifies otherwise.

Victron’s lithium guidance suggests 99% charge efficiency. Tail current must also suit a charger that terminates at its own current threshold. Those are device-specific starting points, not universal settings for every BMS.

Do not copy a lead-acid charged-voltage table into an LFP system without checking it. Select a full-detection condition that your completed LFP charge cycle can reliably meet, without allowing an ordinary partial solar charge to reset the monitor.

A worked full-charge detection example

Suppose a 100 Ah monitor has a 4% tail-current setting. Its current condition is below 4 A. If the charged-detection time is three minutes, the required voltage and current conditions must remain satisfied together for that period.

A passing cloud can also reduce solar current below 4 A. That does not mean the battery is full. This is why the voltage threshold and detection time matter alongside tail current. These numbers explain the logic; they are not a universal configuration prescription.

04 / Charge the battery, not the percentage

What voltage should you charge LiFePO4 to?

Use the charging profile for the completed battery. Cell voltage, charge current, time at that voltage and balancing behaviour work together. A charger reaching its target voltage does not necessarily mean the charge cycle has finished.

Illustrative charging sequence: current is limited during bulk charging while voltage rises; during absorption voltage is held and battery current falls; a standby stage may then support system loads. SOC cannot be inferred from reaching the voltage target alone.
Charging sequence, illustrated rather than measured. Phase lengths and curves are not a timing or capacity specification. Real solar systems also respond to available sun and active loads. Select the image to enlarge.
Four voltage numbers that should not be confused
NumberWhat it meansWhat it does not tell you
Nominal voltageA useful label: 3.2 V per LFP cell, or 12.8 / 25.6 / 51.2 V for 4S / 8S / 16S.An exact resting voltage or percentage.
Charge / absorption targetThe voltage the charger aims to hold for the relevant part of its cycle.That every cell is full or balanced the instant it is reached.
Full-charge detection thresholdA condition the monitor or BMS uses to synchronise its SOC estimate.An instruction for the charger to stop, unless that system explicitly uses it that way.
BMS overvoltage protectionA cell-level protection limit.A normal charging target. Repeated trips need investigation.

A concrete manufacturer example

For its Lithium Battery Smart range, Victron recommends 14.2 V absorption and 13.5 V float for a 12.8 V battery, with corresponding values for larger series banks. Its balancing procedure also requires time in absorption; “LFP never needs absorption” is too broad. [5]

Victron Lithium Battery Smart example—not a universal LFP preset
Setting4S / 12.8 V8S / 25.6 V16S / 51.2 V
Absorption14.2 V28.4 V56.8 V
Float13.5 V27.0 V54.0 V

Other batteries can use different profiles. A lower-voltage daily target can be appropriate, provided it still works with the battery’s full-charge detection and balancing. The long-life charging guide explains the 3.45, 3.50 and 3.55 V/cell options and how current limits interact with SOC and temperature.

Can I charge to 100%?

Yes, when the battery’s procedure allows it. Full charging can provide needed capacity and support synchronisation or balancing. That is different from holding a battery at a high charge voltage indefinitely.

Must I stay at 20–80%?

No. A narrower window is an operating choice, not a law of LFP chemistry. It trades usable capacity for gentler service. Select a reserve that fits your loads and recharge opportunities.

Does LFP need float?

It does not need lead-acid-style maintenance charging. A suitable float stage can still support ongoing system loads. Follow the intended battery/charger combination.

Balancing and SOC calibration are not the same thing

Calibration corrects the gauge; balancing addresses differences between cells. Resetting SOC to 100% does not move charge between cells. Changing a capacity setting does not fix a weak cell. A balancer also needs enough current and time to do its job.

Small cell-voltage differences in the flat middle do not prove equal SOC. Watch how the cells behave towards charge completion and under load. A cell that repeatedly reaches a limit before the others warrants checks of connections, measurements, balance and capacity. Do not solve a high-cell trip by raising its protection limit.

Cold charging: is 12°C a hard limit?

No. The 12°C cutoff in our long-life guide belongs to an optional conservative profile for repeated cold operation. It is not a universal manufacturer prohibition.

Actual limits depend on the battery. For example, Victron specifies charging its Lithium Battery Smart range between +5°C and +50°C. A different cell’s permitted temperature/current map does not override those completed-battery limits. [6]

Near or below freezing, use the battery’s explicit low-temperature procedure and protection. A heated battery must warm its cells before charging them outside their allowed range. Air temperature is not necessarily cell temperature.

Keep the distinction clear: manufacturer operating limits are boundaries; an extra longevity margin is a choice.

What really affects lifespan?

Temperature, time, charge/discharge conditions and the battery’s design all contribute. LFP ages while sitting as well as while cycling. Published research on LFP degradation shows that temperature changes the ageing mechanisms; there is no honest universal conversion from one cold charge to a fixed number of lost cycles. [7]

For everyday use: avoid unnecessary heat, repeated protection trips and leaving a discharged battery with parasitic loads attached. Use the capacity you need. If you choose a lower daily charge target, keep a deliberate plan for the full-charge events your battery requires.

For a cycle-life claim, ask for temperature, depth of discharge, rate and end-of-life capacity. “Thousands of cycles” without those conditions is incomplete information.

05 / Turn the percentage into something useful

How long will my battery last?

A runtime estimate needs capacity, voltage, the SOC you plan to use and the load. Enter those values below to estimate how long your load can run.

Battery runtime estimator

Constant AC load · nominal energy approximation · no charging during the estimate

Calculated example

Worked example: 12.8 V × 100 Ah × (80% − 20%) = 768 Wh above reserve. A 100 W AC load at 90% inverter efficiency draws about 111 W from the battery: roughly 6.9 hours, before any additional idle or DC loads.

Use an efficiency figure appropriate to the load. Add separate standby draw only if it is not already included in that figure. This does not check inverter surge rating, battery power limits, cold-temperature capacity or voltage shutdown. Fridges and other cycling loads need a measured average, not just their nameplate wattage.

The formula and its limits

Usable energy ≈ nominal V × actual Ah × (starting SOC − reserve SOC) / 100.
Battery draw ≈ AC watts ÷ inverter efficiency + extra DC watts.
Runtime ≈ usable energy ÷ battery draw.

Efficiency is a decimal in the formula: 90% = 0.90. The calculator estimates energy; it does not verify that the battery can supply the requested power. A BMS or inverter may shut down before the chosen SOC reserve is reached.

For a better estimate, log real watt-hours used over a representative day and compare them with usable battery energy. Direct measurement captures load cycling that a simple constant-load calculation misses.

06 / Find the cause

LiFePO4 SOC reading wrong? Start here.

Choose the symptom that matches your system. Check the measurement before changing a charging limit. The monitor’s own troubleshooting guide is the place to confirm model-specific behaviour. [8]

The percentage jumps to 100% during charging

First check whether the monitor has just synchronised. Record the voltage, actual battery current and the full-detection settings at the jump. If it happens partway through an ordinary charge, the trigger may be too easy to satisfy.

Also check the capacity setting. Do not immediately raise charge voltage to “make the percentage behave”. Establish whether the battery was actually full or the gauge simply reset.

The battery is charged, but the display never reaches 100%

Check whether the real charge cycle can satisfy the monitor’s voltage, tail-current and time conditions. A lower charge target, early charger termination or ongoing loads can prevent the expected full-detection event.

Confirm the manufacturer’s charge procedure has completed before a manual reset. Repeated manual resets can hide the underlying configuration error.

The inverter and BMS show different percentages

Find out where each number comes from. The inverter may be estimating from voltage, reading another monitor or receiving BMS data through a selected protocol. Compare timestamps, communication status and capacity settings.

Choose the intended SOC source in the system configuration. Matching two displayed numbers is less useful than confirming that one sound measurement controls the right decisions.

The battery switches off while SOC still looks healthy

Read the BMS and inverter event logs. Look for low-cell voltage, overcurrent, temperature, communication loss or inverter undervoltage. Check cell spread and voltage under the actual load.

A healthy-looking percentage cannot override a cell hitting its limit. A loose connection, an unbalanced or weak cell, high load or an inaccurate gauge can all produce this symptom. Diagnose the logged cause; do not bypass the protection.

The percentage barely changes, or moves the wrong way

Compare the measured current with a known charge or load. Confirm direction, shunt orientation and that all current paths pass through the sensor. A wrong Ah capacity makes the percentage move too slowly or too quickly.

Never disconnect a high-current circuit just to test the display. Use the equipment’s normal controls and an appropriate commissioning procedure.

Voltage rises after switching the inverter off

That is usually voltage recovery after removing a load, not newly created charge. The immediate voltage drop and slower polarisation effects relax once current falls.

If a voltage-based percentage also rises, it may be following that voltage recovery. A current-counting monitor should not interpret the voltage rebound alone as a large amount of charge entering the battery.

Before asking for help, collect: battery/BMS model, series count, charger/inverter model, SOC source, pack voltage, highest and lowest cell voltage, battery current, cell temperature and the relevant alarm. A screenshot with these readings is much more useful than “the battery says 50%”.

07 / For readers who want the mechanism

Why LiFePO4 SOC is difficult to estimate

The flat voltage plateau and measurement sensitivity

An SOC estimator tries to infer an internal state from measurements. Voltage feedback becomes weak where the open-circuit voltage (OCV)–SOC curve is flat: a small error in voltage, temperature correction or model parameters can imply a large error in SOC.

This is an observability problem, not simply a need for a voltmeter with more decimal places. The measured curve above illustrates the practical difficulty, although a dynamic curve includes effects that an OCV model treats separately.

Accurate estimation therefore combines current integration, a capacity model and useful reference events. More advanced estimators can also use temperature-dependent models and filtering. The objective is a plausible state estimate, not an exact percentage derived from a single voltage sample. [9]

Resistance, relaxation and hysteresis are related but different

Under discharge, a simple model is terminal voltage ≈ OCV − I × R − polarisation. Charging changes the direction of those current-related terms. Remove the load and some voltage recovers quickly; other processes relax more slowly.

Hysteresis adds dependence on charge/discharge history. It is not the same thing as the immediate I × R drop, and “rested” is not one universal number of minutes. The rest protocol, temperature and required accuracy must be defined before comparing OCV measurements.

Our charge/discharge plot does not isolate these mechanisms. It shows their combined practical effect during the recorded tests. Analog Devices’ LFP fuel-gauging note explains how a flat voltage curve and hysteresis complicate estimation. [10]

Coulomb counting: the useful equation

For discharge, ignoring secondary corrections:

SOC change (percentage points) = −100 × ∫ I dt / C.

Use hours for time and Ah for capacity C, with discharge current positive. Charging adds charge, with an appropriate efficiency correction. Current offset, missed loads, a wrong capacity basis and unobserved self-discharge can each accumulate into error.

A full-charge reference corrects accumulated estimation error. It does not establish the battery’s usable capacity on its own; capacity measurement needs a defined charge/discharge test.

Why average pack voltage can miss a cell problem

Pack voltage is the sum of cell voltages. A sum does not tell you how those values are distributed. As an arithmetic example, a four-cell pack at 13.2 V could consist of four cells at 3.30 V, or one at 3.00 V and three at 3.40 V.

The total is identical; the cell-level situation is not. That is why a BMS monitors individual series groups and why pack SOC should be considered alongside highest/lowest cell voltage, temperature and active limits.

Why there is no voltage-to-SOC calculator on this page

Entering “13.2 V” and receiving “67%” would look helpful. Without the cell model, current, temperature, history and a validated model, the precision would be unjustified.

Instead, the chart lets you inspect an identified experiment, and the runtime calculator makes its assumptions visible. When a measurement cannot answer the question reliably, understanding that limitation is useful information.

08 / Inspect the evidence

Sources, chart data and editorial method

This guide combines manufacturer documentation, independently published measurements and worked calculations. The Off-Grid Garage test was not performed by LiFePO4 Australia. Illustrations explain a mechanism; they are not laboratory results. Prepared with AI-assisted writing and charting; sources and calculation methods are provided for inspection.

Exactly how the measured chart was prepared

The source is Off-Grid Garage’s EVE MB31 test using a ZKE-Tech EBC-A40L. The published method charges with a 40 A limit to 3.65 V, ending near 15.3 A, then discharges at 40 A to 2.5 V. The CSV headers report 329.70 Ah charged and 330.60 Ah discharged. Temperature was not stated.

The prepared dataset integrates current against time and samples at 1% intervals. Charging is expressed as charge put in relative to the charge-test total; discharging as charge remaining relative to the discharge-test total. They are independent normalisations, not an independent measurement of absolute electrochemical SOC.

Lines connect those samples without smoothing. Four-, eight- and sixteen-cell views multiply the cell voltage by series count. No cell variation, cable drop or pack imbalance is simulated. The endpoints are test boundaries, not normal operating recommendations.

Download the exact plotted dataset · Original shared measurement files

  1. Off-Grid Garage battery data — EVE MB31 charge/discharge measurements and published test procedure.
  2. Victron SmartShunt: installation — measurement paths and shunt connections.
  3. Victron SmartShunt: settings — charged voltage, tail current and detection time.
  4. Victron SmartShunt: lithium configuration — efficiency, Peukert exponent and discharge floor.
  5. Victron Lithium Battery Smart: operation — product-specific charge settings, balancing time and battery care.
  6. Victron Lithium Battery Smart: technical data — temperature range and defined performance conditions.
  7. Temperature-dependent degradation mechanisms in LFP batteries — published research on the relationship between operating conditions and ageing.
  8. Victron SmartShunt: troubleshooting — incorrect readings, synchronisation and capacity configuration.
  9. Shi et al.: adaptive LFP SOC estimation — research preprint on flat-curve observability, current bias, temperature and combining estimators.
  10. Analog Devices: fuel gauging LFP batteries — technical explanation of the voltage plateau, hysteresis and estimation methods.

Keep going when you need more detail

Long-life charging: voltage, temperature and BMS current limits
Connecting a JK inverter BMS to Victron
Building a 12 V, 24 V or 48 V LiFePO4 battery

Revision: 5 September 2026. Retained the practical rested SOC reference and added an attributed measured comparison; added chart exploration, runtime calculations, troubleshooting and clearer distinctions between charging targets, calibration and protection.

X