News
Solar batteries and prices in Australia

Updated January 2025

If you’re thinking of buying a solar battery for your home, our helpful article on real solar batteries and prices in Australia in 2025, you might be wondering how much it will cost and what size you need. In this educational blog post, we’ll give you some guidance on how to compare solar battery prices and sizes in Australia based on battery capacity, brand, and the state in which you live.

Solar battery prices vary depending on the storage capacity, which is measured in kilowatt-hours (kWh). The more kWh a battery can store, the more electricity it can provide for your home when the sun is not shining. The average solar battery price in Australia is approximately $700-900per kWh of storage, excluding installation costs. We think that is still much too expensive, our batteries are usually around 20-50% lower in price, yet better quality in most cases.

The price of a solar battery in Australia usually ranges from $3,500 to $15,000 or more, depending on the specifications. Below is a general breakdown based on capacity:

Battery CapacityPrice Range (AUD)
5 kWh$3,500 – $5,000
10 kWh$7,000 – $10,000
15 kWh$8,000 – $15,000+
20 kWh and above$15,000 – $25,000+

Prices include the battery unit but usually not installation. Installation can cost an additional $1,000 to $3,000, depending on the complexity.

Tesla’s Powerwall 2 and 3 costs around $13,500 for a 13.5 kWh battery ($1000 AUD per kwh), while SunGrow’s SBR096 costs around $8499 for a 9.6 kWh battery (about $900AUD per kwh).

TCOS, lifepo4, battery, australia, compare, chart home, battery, residential, CEC
The price per Kwh of Tesla Powerwall vs BYD, vs Lifepo4 Australia LiFePro 306ah 48v

Source for image – Solar Battery Prices & Sizes in Australia | Solar Market

However, the solar battery price also depends on the brand and model of the battery. Some brands, such as Tesla, LG Chem, and Sonnen, are more expensive than others, such as SunGrow and Growatt. Several factors are at play in this pretty new market.

  1. Brand
  2. Intelligence of Software
  3. Quality of components
  4. Inbuilt inverter (tesla)
  5. Warranty period
  6. Who you buy your solar system from

You should compare different brands and models to find the one that suits your needs and budget.

Some of our batteries offer a cost of approximately $384 AUD per kwh. Such as the our Lifepro 15.5kwh off grid battery which starts at $5999!

Paired with a High Quality CEC Inverter our battery can give you high end features, at a fraction of the cost.

Why? We are a small business with far lower operating costs. We dont need to support expensive sales people, or large numbers of accounting staff.

Solar batteries and prices in Australia
TCOS, lifepo4, battery, australia, compare, chart home, battery, residential, CEC
The price per Kwh of Tesla Powerwall vs BYD, vs Lifepo4 Australia LiFePro 306ah 48v

Why are brand name batteries so expensive?

Its a walled garden, a well established channel of sales funneled through existing distributors and supplers. this allows most solar companies, to sell you what they profit most from, and nothing else. It’s very anti-competitive and very much about profit margins for the owners and salespeople of these companies.

Another factor that affects the solar battery price is the state where you live. Some states, such as South Australia and Victoria, did offer rebates and incentives for installing solar batteries, which could reduce the upfront cost significantly. Other states, such as Queensland and New South Wales, have higher electricity prices, which can increase the savings from using a solar battery. You should check the eligibility criteria and availability of rebates and incentives in your state before buying a solar battery.

Performance: The performance (lifespan) of a solar battery depends on its efficiency, depth of discharge (DoD), cycle life, and backup capability. Efficiency is how much energy the battery can deliver compared to how much energy it receives from the solar panels. The higher the efficiency, the less energy is wasted during charging and discharging. LiFePO4 excels with efficiency. Especially compared to Lead based batteries. Anyone spruking Lead based batteries, really has very little knowledge of total cost of ownership and performance, and therefor should be immediately ignored.

Depth of discharge is how much of the battery’s capacity can be used before it needs to be recharged. The higher the DoD, the more energy you can use from the battery. Cycle life is how many times the battery can be fully charged and discharged before its capacity drops below a certain level. The longer the cycle life, the longer the battery will last. Backup capability is whether the battery can provide power to your home during a blackout or when the grid is down. Not all batteries have this feature, so you should check if this is important to you.

To sum up, solar battery prices and sizes in Australia depend on several factors, such as storage capacity, brand, model, and state. You should do your research and compare different options to find the best solar battery for your home.

News Home
LiFePO4 SOC: Voltage Charts, Charging & Battery Percentage

The practical battery reference

LiFePO4 SOC Voltage charts, charging & battery percentage explained.

LiFePO4 SOC means state of charge: the estimated percentage of charge remaining in your battery. A voltage reading helps, but it cannot reliably tell you that percentage through most of the battery’s range.

Use the rested voltage table for a quick reference, explore a measured test, or jump straight to monitor setup, charging and runtime.

A reading needs context

13.2 VHow full is that?

About halfway in our rested reference. Under load or while charging, the same number can tell a different story.

01 / The quick reference

LiFePO4 SOC voltage chart: rested battery

Use this as a practical orientation chart after charging and loads have stopped and the voltage has settled. These are the values from our rested SOC reference graphic. They are approximate, not charger targets or BMS protection settings.

Find your battery voltage

Approximate rested values
Approximate SOC4S / 12 V battery
100%13.60 V
90%13.40 V
80%13.32 V
70%13.28 V
60%13.24 V
50%13.20 V
40%13.16 V
30%13.12 V
20%13.00 V
10%12.72 V

Read the trend, not the last decimal

13.2 V is around halfway in this 12 V reference. It is not proof of 50% SOC. In the flat middle, a small change in voltage can cover a wide capacity range.

For example, this table places 80% at 13.32 V and 40% at 13.16 V. That is just 0.16 V across 40 percentage points. Load, temperature, recent charging and the particular cells can easily change the interpretation.

For an installed battery: use this chart as a sense check. Use calibrated BMS/shunt data for the percentage, and cell-level measurements and alarms for protection.

Before reading the table: confirm the series count, stop charging and loads, and allow voltage to settle. “48 V lithium” is not automatically 16S LiFePO4.

These lookup points are an approximate practical guide, without a published controlled rest-test dataset. Their SOC estimates will vary between batteries and conditions.

See why conditions matter

Now compare charging and discharging

The chart below uses Off-Grid Garage’s measured EVE MB31 test. Unlike the rested reference, current is flowing. Explore the curves to see why a voltage table needs context. [1]

One cell. Two very different curves.

EVE MB31 · 40 A test · cell and calculated pack voltages

Measured data
ChargingDischarging
Measured EVE MB31 charge and discharge curves scaled to a 4S battery. Voltage is nearly flat over much of the capacity range, and charging voltage is higher than discharge voltage.

How to read this: percentages are normalised to each test’s measured capacity. Discharge runs from right to left; charge runs left to right. Pack voltages are cell voltage × series count, not a separate pack test. This is a dynamic test, not a rested-voltage lookup for your battery. Temperature was not stated. See test conditions and method.

The useful lesson: in this discharge test, moving from 80% to 40% changed the cell voltage by only about 0.05 V—about 0.20 V for four identical cells. A small voltage difference can hide a large amount of remaining capacity.

Show measured discharge samples: 12 V, 24 V and 48 V

These are samples from the 40 A discharge test above. The percentages refer to remaining measured test capacity. They are included so you can inspect the data, not use it as a universal fuel gauge.

EVE MB31 test reference · calculated pack equivalents
Test %Cell4S / 12 V8S / 24 V16S / 48 V
100%3.611 V14.44 V28.89 V57.78 V
90%3.299 V13.20 V26.39 V52.78 V
80%3.297 V13.19 V26.38 V52.75 V
70%3.283 V13.13 V26.26 V52.53 V
60%3.262 V13.05 V26.10 V52.19 V
50%3.254 V13.02 V26.03 V52.06 V
40%3.247 V12.99 V25.98 V51.95 V
30%3.232 V12.93 V25.86 V51.71 V
20%3.203 V12.81 V25.62 V51.25 V
10%3.152 V12.61 V25.22 V50.43 V
0%2.510 V10.04 V20.08 V40.17 V

The 100% sample is near the start of discharge after charging; it is not a rested full-charge voltage. The 0% sample is near the test endpoint, not a recommended everyday shutdown setting. Values are rounded from the underlying samples.

UNDER LOAD

Voltage falls

An inverter or other load pulls the voltage down. A bigger load can make the same battery look emptier on a voltage-only display.

WHILE CHARGING

Voltage rises

The charger pushes voltage up. Reaching a particular voltage does not, by itself, prove that the battery is full.

AFTER RESTING

Voltage settles

A resting reading removes the immediate load or charge effect. The flat middle and charge history still make an exact percentage unreliable.

02 / The numbers that matter

SOC, capacity and runtime are different things

SOC is a percentage of a capacity estimate. If a battery really has 100 Ah available and its SOC estimate is correct, 50% represents about 50 Ah remaining. That is charge, not a promise of a particular number of hours.

A 100 Ah battery and a 300 Ah battery can both show 50%. The larger battery holds roughly three times as much charge. Likewise, 100 Ah at 51.2 V represents four times the nominal energy of 100 Ah at 12.8 V.

Battery health changes the size of the tank. An ageing battery can reach 100% SOC while storing less than it did when new. Its monitor needs a realistic capacity basis to keep that percentage useful.

SOCState of charge: how full the estimated capacity is.
AhAmp-hours: charge capacity. Compare at the same voltage.
WhWatt-hours: energy. Approximately nominal volts × amp-hours.
SOHState of health: condition relative to new. Capacity is one measure; resistance and power capability also matter.

Series adds voltage. Parallel adds amp-hours. Four 100 Ah cells in series make a nominal 12.8 V, 100 Ah battery—not 400 Ah. Four compatible 12.8 V, 100 Ah batteries in parallel make a nominal 12.8 V, 400 Ah bank.

The arithmetic does not mean any batteries can be connected together. Completed batteries must support the intended series/parallel arrangement. A “48 V” label alone also does not confirm 16S; some LFP systems are 15S.

What does “100%” actually mean?

For a monitor, 100% is a reference point established by its full-charge detection rules or a manual reset. For a capacity test, it is the starting point under a specified charge procedure. For a complete battery, displayed SOC can also include manufacturer-defined reserves.

Those definitions need not be identical. A display reaching 100% is not proof that every cell is balanced, and a battery showing 95% is not automatically missing 5% of its rated capacity. Look at the measurement method, actual charge completion and usable energy.

03 / Get a reading you can use

How to measure LiFePO4 SOC accurately

Use a monitor that measures battery current and counts charge in and out. That may be built into the BMS, or it may be a separate shunt. A communicating BMS is useful only when its measurements are sound and the inverter is actually using its SOC data.

1. Measure all battery currentSolar, alternator, mains charger, inverter and smaller DC loads must be included in the measurement.
2. Use the right capacityCheck the battery or bank’s Ah rating and configuration. Revisit it if a valid test shows meaningful capacity loss.
3. Establish true fullSynchronise after the battery completes its proper charge procedure. Then let the monitor count from that reference.
Conceptual diagram: battery current passes through a shunt to all loads and chargers. A BMS monitors cells and sends data and charge limits to a compatible inverter. A bypassed current path produces a wrong SOC estimate.
Two jobs: measure energy flow and protect the cells. A shunt provides current measurement; the BMS supplies cell-level protection. This is a functional diagram, not a wiring plan. Select the image to enlarge.

A common shunt mistake is an unmeasured connection. In a negative-side shunt installation, a load or charger connected directly to battery negative bypasses the measurement. The monitor cannot count what it cannot see. Victron’s installation instructions put all system negatives on the system side of the shunt. [2]

Why SOC drifts

Current measurement has a small error; the configured capacity may be imperfect; charging is not perfectly efficient. Those errors accumulate. For example, a constant 0.1 A measurement error over seven days equals 16.8 Ah. On a 100 Ah reference, that is 16.8 percentage points.

This is why a shunt is not “fit and forget”. It needs sensible settings and occasional reliable synchronisation. The worked example is arithmetic, not a claim about the accuracy of any specific monitor.

Do you need a separate shunt?

Already have a reliable BMS SOC reading? A second monitor is optional. It can be useful for checking the system, but two displays can disagree because their capacity settings or reset rules differ.

Only have a voltage-based percentage? A correctly installed current-counting monitor is a substantial improvement. This is especially useful where several chargers or DC loads sit outside the inverter’s own measurement.

Practical SmartShunt setup: what each setting does

For a Victron SmartShunt, use the current manual and your battery’s charge procedure. These controls have separate jobs: [3] [4]

  • Battery capacity: the Ah basis used to calculate percentage.
  • Charged voltage: the voltage condition for recognising full charge. It is not the charger’s voltage command.
  • Tail current: how low the current must fall while the voltage condition is met.
  • Charged detection time: how long those conditions must persist together.
  • Charge efficiency: compensation for the difference between charge put in and recovered.
  • Peukert exponent: correction for discharge-rate effects; Victron suggests 1.05 for lithium unless the supplier specifies otherwise.

Victron’s lithium guidance suggests 99% charge efficiency. Tail current must also suit a charger that terminates at its own current threshold. Those are device-specific starting points, not universal settings for every BMS.

Do not copy a lead-acid charged-voltage table into an LFP system without checking it. Select a full-detection condition that your completed LFP charge cycle can reliably meet, without allowing an ordinary partial solar charge to reset the monitor.

A worked full-charge detection example

Suppose a 100 Ah monitor has a 4% tail-current setting. Its current condition is below 4 A. If the charged-detection time is three minutes, the required voltage and current conditions must remain satisfied together for that period.

A passing cloud can also reduce solar current below 4 A. That does not mean the battery is full. This is why the voltage threshold and detection time matter alongside tail current. These numbers explain the logic; they are not a universal configuration prescription.

04 / Charge the battery, not the percentage

What voltage should you charge LiFePO4 to?

Use the charging profile for the completed battery. Cell voltage, charge current, time at that voltage and balancing behaviour work together. A charger reaching its target voltage does not necessarily mean the charge cycle has finished.

Illustrative charging sequence: current is limited during bulk charging while voltage rises; during absorption voltage is held and battery current falls; a standby stage may then support system loads. SOC cannot be inferred from reaching the voltage target alone.
Charging sequence, illustrated rather than measured. Phase lengths and curves are not a timing or capacity specification. Real solar systems also respond to available sun and active loads. Select the image to enlarge.
Four voltage numbers that should not be confused
NumberWhat it meansWhat it does not tell you
Nominal voltageA useful label: 3.2 V per LFP cell, or 12.8 / 25.6 / 51.2 V for 4S / 8S / 16S.An exact resting voltage or percentage.
Charge / absorption targetThe voltage the charger aims to hold for the relevant part of its cycle.That every cell is full or balanced the instant it is reached.
Full-charge detection thresholdA condition the monitor or BMS uses to synchronise its SOC estimate.An instruction for the charger to stop, unless that system explicitly uses it that way.
BMS overvoltage protectionA cell-level protection limit.A normal charging target. Repeated trips need investigation.

A concrete manufacturer example

For its Lithium Battery Smart range, Victron recommends 14.2 V absorption and 13.5 V float for a 12.8 V battery, with corresponding values for larger series banks. Its balancing procedure also requires time in absorption; “LFP never needs absorption” is too broad. [5]

Victron Lithium Battery Smart example—not a universal LFP preset
Setting4S / 12.8 V8S / 25.6 V16S / 51.2 V
Absorption14.2 V28.4 V56.8 V
Float13.5 V27.0 V54.0 V

Other batteries can use different profiles. A lower-voltage daily target can be appropriate, provided it still works with the battery’s full-charge detection and balancing. The long-life charging guide explains the 3.45, 3.50 and 3.55 V/cell options and how current limits interact with SOC and temperature.

Can I charge to 100%?

Yes, when the battery’s procedure allows it. Full charging can provide needed capacity and support synchronisation or balancing. That is different from holding a battery at a high charge voltage indefinitely.

Must I stay at 20–80%?

No. A narrower window is an operating choice, not a law of LFP chemistry. It trades usable capacity for gentler service. Select a reserve that fits your loads and recharge opportunities.

Does LFP need float?

It does not need lead-acid-style maintenance charging. A suitable float stage can still support ongoing system loads. Follow the intended battery/charger combination.

Balancing and SOC calibration are not the same thing

Calibration corrects the gauge; balancing addresses differences between cells. Resetting SOC to 100% does not move charge between cells. Changing a capacity setting does not fix a weak cell. A balancer also needs enough current and time to do its job.

Small cell-voltage differences in the flat middle do not prove equal SOC. Watch how the cells behave towards charge completion and under load. A cell that repeatedly reaches a limit before the others warrants checks of connections, measurements, balance and capacity. Do not solve a high-cell trip by raising its protection limit.

Cold charging: is 12°C a hard limit?

No. The 12°C cutoff in our long-life guide belongs to an optional conservative profile for repeated cold operation. It is not a universal manufacturer prohibition.

Actual limits depend on the battery. For example, Victron specifies charging its Lithium Battery Smart range between +5°C and +50°C. A different cell’s permitted temperature/current map does not override those completed-battery limits. [6]

Near or below freezing, use the battery’s explicit low-temperature procedure and protection. A heated battery must warm its cells before charging them outside their allowed range. Air temperature is not necessarily cell temperature.

Keep the distinction clear: manufacturer operating limits are boundaries; an extra longevity margin is a choice.

What really affects lifespan?

Temperature, time, charge/discharge conditions and the battery’s design all contribute. LFP ages while sitting as well as while cycling. Published research on LFP degradation shows that temperature changes the ageing mechanisms; there is no honest universal conversion from one cold charge to a fixed number of lost cycles. [7]

For everyday use: avoid unnecessary heat, repeated protection trips and leaving a discharged battery with parasitic loads attached. Use the capacity you need. If you choose a lower daily charge target, keep a deliberate plan for the full-charge events your battery requires.

For a cycle-life claim, ask for temperature, depth of discharge, rate and end-of-life capacity. “Thousands of cycles” without those conditions is incomplete information.

05 / Turn the percentage into something useful

How long will my battery last?

A runtime estimate needs capacity, voltage, the SOC you plan to use and the load. Enter those values below to estimate how long your load can run.

Battery runtime estimator

Constant AC load · nominal energy approximation · no charging during the estimate

Calculated example

Worked example: 12.8 V × 100 Ah × (80% − 20%) = 768 Wh above reserve. A 100 W AC load at 90% inverter efficiency draws about 111 W from the battery: roughly 6.9 hours, before any additional idle or DC loads.

Use an efficiency figure appropriate to the load. Add separate standby draw only if it is not already included in that figure. This does not check inverter surge rating, battery power limits, cold-temperature capacity or voltage shutdown. Fridges and other cycling loads need a measured average, not just their nameplate wattage.

The formula and its limits

Usable energy ≈ nominal V × actual Ah × (starting SOC − reserve SOC) / 100.
Battery draw ≈ AC watts ÷ inverter efficiency + extra DC watts.
Runtime ≈ usable energy ÷ battery draw.

Efficiency is a decimal in the formula: 90% = 0.90. The calculator estimates energy; it does not verify that the battery can supply the requested power. A BMS or inverter may shut down before the chosen SOC reserve is reached.

For a better estimate, log real watt-hours used over a representative day and compare them with usable battery energy. Direct measurement captures load cycling that a simple constant-load calculation misses.

06 / Find the cause

LiFePO4 SOC reading wrong? Start here.

Choose the symptom that matches your system. Check the measurement before changing a charging limit. The monitor’s own troubleshooting guide is the place to confirm model-specific behaviour. [8]

The percentage jumps to 100% during charging

First check whether the monitor has just synchronised. Record the voltage, actual battery current and the full-detection settings at the jump. If it happens partway through an ordinary charge, the trigger may be too easy to satisfy.

Also check the capacity setting. Do not immediately raise charge voltage to “make the percentage behave”. Establish whether the battery was actually full or the gauge simply reset.

The battery is charged, but the display never reaches 100%

Check whether the real charge cycle can satisfy the monitor’s voltage, tail-current and time conditions. A lower charge target, early charger termination or ongoing loads can prevent the expected full-detection event.

Confirm the manufacturer’s charge procedure has completed before a manual reset. Repeated manual resets can hide the underlying configuration error.

The inverter and BMS show different percentages

Find out where each number comes from. The inverter may be estimating from voltage, reading another monitor or receiving BMS data through a selected protocol. Compare timestamps, communication status and capacity settings.

Choose the intended SOC source in the system configuration. Matching two displayed numbers is less useful than confirming that one sound measurement controls the right decisions.

The battery switches off while SOC still looks healthy

Read the BMS and inverter event logs. Look for low-cell voltage, overcurrent, temperature, communication loss or inverter undervoltage. Check cell spread and voltage under the actual load.

A healthy-looking percentage cannot override a cell hitting its limit. A loose connection, an unbalanced or weak cell, high load or an inaccurate gauge can all produce this symptom. Diagnose the logged cause; do not bypass the protection.

The percentage barely changes, or moves the wrong way

Compare the measured current with a known charge or load. Confirm direction, shunt orientation and that all current paths pass through the sensor. A wrong Ah capacity makes the percentage move too slowly or too quickly.

Never disconnect a high-current circuit just to test the display. Use the equipment’s normal controls and an appropriate commissioning procedure.

Voltage rises after switching the inverter off

That is usually voltage recovery after removing a load, not newly created charge. The immediate voltage drop and slower polarisation effects relax once current falls.

If a voltage-based percentage also rises, it may be following that voltage recovery. A current-counting monitor should not interpret the voltage rebound alone as a large amount of charge entering the battery.

Before asking for help, collect: battery/BMS model, series count, charger/inverter model, SOC source, pack voltage, highest and lowest cell voltage, battery current, cell temperature and the relevant alarm. A screenshot with these readings is much more useful than “the battery says 50%”.

07 / For readers who want the mechanism

Why LiFePO4 SOC is difficult to estimate

The flat voltage plateau and measurement sensitivity

An SOC estimator tries to infer an internal state from measurements. Voltage feedback becomes weak where the open-circuit voltage (OCV)–SOC curve is flat: a small error in voltage, temperature correction or model parameters can imply a large error in SOC.

This is an observability problem, not simply a need for a voltmeter with more decimal places. The measured curve above illustrates the practical difficulty, although a dynamic curve includes effects that an OCV model treats separately.

Accurate estimation therefore combines current integration, a capacity model and useful reference events. More advanced estimators can also use temperature-dependent models and filtering. The objective is a plausible state estimate, not an exact percentage derived from a single voltage sample. [9]

Resistance, relaxation and hysteresis are related but different

Under discharge, a simple model is terminal voltage ≈ OCV − I × R − polarisation. Charging changes the direction of those current-related terms. Remove the load and some voltage recovers quickly; other processes relax more slowly.

Hysteresis adds dependence on charge/discharge history. It is not the same thing as the immediate I × R drop, and “rested” is not one universal number of minutes. The rest protocol, temperature and required accuracy must be defined before comparing OCV measurements.

Our charge/discharge plot does not isolate these mechanisms. It shows their combined practical effect during the recorded tests. Analog Devices’ LFP fuel-gauging note explains how a flat voltage curve and hysteresis complicate estimation. [10]

Coulomb counting: the useful equation

For discharge, ignoring secondary corrections:

SOC change (percentage points) = −100 × ∫ I dt / C.

Use hours for time and Ah for capacity C, with discharge current positive. Charging adds charge, with an appropriate efficiency correction. Current offset, missed loads, a wrong capacity basis and unobserved self-discharge can each accumulate into error.

A full-charge reference corrects accumulated estimation error. It does not establish the battery’s usable capacity on its own; capacity measurement needs a defined charge/discharge test.

Why average pack voltage can miss a cell problem

Pack voltage is the sum of cell voltages. A sum does not tell you how those values are distributed. As an arithmetic example, a four-cell pack at 13.2 V could consist of four cells at 3.30 V, or one at 3.00 V and three at 3.40 V.

The total is identical; the cell-level situation is not. That is why a BMS monitors individual series groups and why pack SOC should be considered alongside highest/lowest cell voltage, temperature and active limits.

Why there is no voltage-to-SOC calculator on this page

Entering “13.2 V” and receiving “67%” would look helpful. Without the cell model, current, temperature, history and a validated model, the precision would be unjustified.

Instead, the chart lets you inspect an identified experiment, and the runtime calculator makes its assumptions visible. When a measurement cannot answer the question reliably, understanding that limitation is useful information.

08 / Inspect the evidence

Sources, chart data and editorial method

This guide combines manufacturer documentation, independently published measurements and worked calculations. The Off-Grid Garage test was not performed by LiFePO4 Australia. Illustrations explain a mechanism; they are not laboratory results. Prepared with AI-assisted writing and charting; sources and calculation methods are provided for inspection.

Exactly how the measured chart was prepared

The source is Off-Grid Garage’s EVE MB31 test using a ZKE-Tech EBC-A40L. The published method charges with a 40 A limit to 3.65 V, ending near 15.3 A, then discharges at 40 A to 2.5 V. The CSV headers report 329.70 Ah charged and 330.60 Ah discharged. Temperature was not stated.

The prepared dataset integrates current against time and samples at 1% intervals. Charging is expressed as charge put in relative to the charge-test total; discharging as charge remaining relative to the discharge-test total. They are independent normalisations, not an independent measurement of absolute electrochemical SOC.

Lines connect those samples without smoothing. Four-, eight- and sixteen-cell views multiply the cell voltage by series count. No cell variation, cable drop or pack imbalance is simulated. The endpoints are test boundaries, not normal operating recommendations.

Download the exact plotted dataset · Original shared measurement files

  1. Off-Grid Garage battery data — EVE MB31 charge/discharge measurements and published test procedure.
  2. Victron SmartShunt: installation — measurement paths and shunt connections.
  3. Victron SmartShunt: settings — charged voltage, tail current and detection time.
  4. Victron SmartShunt: lithium configuration — efficiency, Peukert exponent and discharge floor.
  5. Victron Lithium Battery Smart: operation — product-specific charge settings, balancing time and battery care.
  6. Victron Lithium Battery Smart: technical data — temperature range and defined performance conditions.
  7. Temperature-dependent degradation mechanisms in LFP batteries — published research on the relationship between operating conditions and ageing.
  8. Victron SmartShunt: troubleshooting — incorrect readings, synchronisation and capacity configuration.
  9. Shi et al.: adaptive LFP SOC estimation — research preprint on flat-curve observability, current bias, temperature and combining estimators.
  10. Analog Devices: fuel gauging LFP batteries — technical explanation of the voltage plateau, hysteresis and estimation methods.

Keep going when you need more detail

Long-life charging: voltage, temperature and BMS current limits
Connecting a JK inverter BMS to Victron
Building a 12 V, 24 V or 48 V LiFePO4 battery

Revision: 5 September 2026. Retained the practical rested SOC reference and added an attributed measured comparison; added chart exploration, runtime calculations, troubleshooting and clearer distinctions between charging targets, calibration and protection.

X