The Yixiang DIY Battery Box is a customizable battery enclosure designed for DIY battery builders. It is sometimes promoted among those who assemble their own battery packs for various applications, including solar energy storage and backup power systems.
BE CAREFUL! these companies start off cheap, but end up expensive!
Make sure you have calculated ALL THE COSTS and never agree to a sale until you have had 1. TIME TO THINK about your purchase 2. Checked the competitors 3. Asked a business in your own Country for a quote for a similar or better item
Modular Design: The battery box is modular, allowing users to configure it to fit different battery cell sizes and quantities. This flexibility makes it suitable for a range of battery pack designs.
Durability: Made from high-quality materials, the box is designed to be durable and provide good protection for the battery cells inside. It is often constructed from fire-resistant and impact-resistant materials to ensure safety.
Ease of Assembly: The design of the Yixiang DIY Battery Box emphasizes ease of assembly, with clearly marked components and straightforward instructions. This makes it accessible even for those with limited technical expertise.
Ventilation and Cooling: Many models include features for ventilation and cooling, which help to maintain optimal operating temperatures for the battery cells, thereby enhancing performance and longevity.
Compatibility: The battery box is compatible with various battery chemistries, including LiFePO4, NCM, and others. This versatility allows users to choose the best battery type for their specific needs.
Customization Options: Users can customize the box with additional features such as BMS (Battery Management System) integration, LCD screens for monitoring, and various connectors and terminals to suit their application.
Safety Features: The Yixiang DIY Battery Box often includes multiple safety features such as short circuit protection, overcharge and over-discharge protection, and temperature sensors to ensure the safe operation of the battery pack.
Portability: Designed with portability in mind, many models include handles or wheels, making it easy to transport the assembled battery pack.
If you need more detailed specifications or information about a particular model, please let me know!
Breaking this is likely the most important news to hit the DIY Solar and Lithium Lifepo4 Battery Off Grid community in 10 years. This really is going to upset the YouTube community apple cart. Especially that guy that lives in Australia who isn’t even Australian.
Currently, 280Ah and 300ah cells are the mainstream in Lifepo4 Batteries, but with the acceleration of technological iteration, the improvement to battery cathode and electrolyte technology in the past few years, over 20 types of high-capacity cells above 300Ah have emerged, these cells will take considerable time to enter the retail and B grade markets, but they are coming in 2024 and 2025. Some of these cells can be purchased now in very large quantity, but for the average joe, building batteries at home DIY style the best mix of value and performance still likes in the 280ah capacity cells over the next few months.
Super Large Capacity LiFePO4 Cells
With the rapid development of the energy storage industry, the market demand for cells continues to outpace supply. Many companies are increasing cell capacity through technological iteration. Cell capacity is growing larger, from 306ah to 314Ah, 320Ah, 340ah and 360ah and then to 500ah 560Ah and 580ah cells
EVE LF560K (628Ah) LiFePO4 Cells
Last year, EVE Energy launched the LF560K battery, adopting cutting-edge Cell to TWh (CTT) technology tailored for TWh-scale energy storage applications. This enables extremely streamlined system integration and dual reduction in costs at both the cell and system levels. Global delivery is expected to commence in Q2 2024.
Keep in mind the DIY community won’t likely see these cells until at least 2025.
EVE LF560K (628Ah) LiFePO4 Cells
Compared to the LF280K battery, the LF560K battery can reduce components like busbars by almost half, whilst improving production efficiency by 30%. Container energy density can be increased by 6.5% allowing for lower costs for customers.
To address the key technological challenges facing the manufacture of ultra-large battery cells, EVE Energy has adopted a “stacking technique” to resolve issues with current collection and manufacturability in the LF560K battery’s electrode and current conductor design. Because the number of tabs per winding is doubled, solving the current collection problem and reducing DC IR by 8%. Prismatic sheet stacking replaces winding, doubling the single electrode sheet length, yields a 3% increase in total cell production .
The LF560K battery represents EVE Energy’s relentless pursuit of innovation and quality, built upon over 21 years of extensive experience in the battery industry and the strong R&D capabilities of its 3,100-member research team.
Currently, the mainstream energy storage cells on the market are 280Ah rectangular aluminum-cased cells. Many manufacturers are also reducing costs for downstream customers by improving cell volumetric density – that is, increasing capacity density per unit volume.
The 560Ah cell essentially doubles the common 280Ah rectangular cell size, equivalent to placing two 280Ah cells side-by-side. This aims to reduce PACK components and achieve cost reduction.
Although the 560Ah cell is not yet EVE Energy’s primary product, it has embarked on the path to commercialization. On February 1 this year, EVE Energy broke ground on its new “60 GWh Power Energy Storage Battery Super Factory” in Jingmen, Hubei, with 10.8 billion RMB investment. This factory will mass-produce the 560Ah energy storage cell. The 560Ah cell is expected to commence global delivery in Q2 2024.
Vision 580Ah LiFePOP4 Cell
On May 16, China’s largest battery exhibition, CIBF 2023, opened in Shenzhen. Thunder Corporation prominently displayed an ultra-high capacity cell.
The 580Ah ultra-large single-cell released by Thunder Corp is the largest capacity single-cell emerged so far globally.
Although the exhibit at CIBF appeared high-profile, it only showcased partial specs. The company claims 10,000 cycle life, 11kg weight per cell, 1856Wh nominal capacity, and 0.5C charge/discharge rate. But details such as packaging technology, mass production timeline, and delivery schedule remain unclear.
With over 10,000 cycle life, the 580Ah cell represents a two-pronged upgrade at both the cell and system levels, providing customers robust safety assurance and performance guarantee. Technologies such as low-expansion anode materials, full tab design, electrode surface treatment, and flexible electrode forming help resolve liquid infiltration challenges for large cells, enabling comprehensive safety protection and high cycle life through heat insulation, diffusion prevention, pressure relief, and more. This will better meet application requirements for grid-scale energy storage, greatly improving system safety, lifespan, and lowering life-cycle electricity costs.
Vision 580Ah LiFePOP4 Cell
Currently, there is no universally accepted single-model standard for energy storage cells, and the industry has not yet formed complete standardization. It is believed that with continuous technological breakthroughs and improved designs, more energy storage cell solutions will emerge over time.
Enterprises should pursue R&D across diverse cell models, material systems, and cost schemes. With market validation over time, superior cell designs will become proven, catalyzing new breakthroughs in energy storage cells. This is a crucial premise for the healthy development of the energy storage industry.
CATL 306Ah/314Ah LiFePO4 Cell
CATL said that the mass production and delivery of 314Ah dedicated electric core for energy storage is another opportunity for the company to lead the development of energy storage system through technological innovation and bring new breakthroughs in the field of energy storage.
It is understood that CATL EnerD series products use its energy storage dedicated 314Ah core, and equipped with CTP liquid cooling 3.0 high-efficiency grouping technology, optimizing the grouping structure and conductive connection structure of the core, while adopting a more modular and standardized design in the process of design and manufacturing, to achieve the 20-foot single compartment of the power from 3.354MWh to 5.0MWh, compared with the previous generation of products. Compared to its predecessor, the new EnerD series of liquid-cooled prefabricated energy storage pods saves more than 20% of floor space, reduces the amount of construction work by 15%, and decreases commissioning, operation and maintenance costs by 10%, and also significantly improves energy density and performance.
SUNWODA 314Ah LiFePO4 CellSUNWODA 314Ah LiFePO4 Cell Data & infomation
JEVE 305Ah/360Ah LiFePO4 Cells
JEVE 305Ah & 360Ah LiFePO4 Cell
COSPOWERS 305Ah LiFePO4 Cell
COSPOWERS 305Ah LiFePO4 Cell
shoto 315Ah LiFePO4 Cell
Shoto 315Ah LiFePO4 Cell
ZENERGY 314Ah LiFePO4 Cell
ZENERGY 314Ah LiFePO4 Cell
Seeking the “Triangle Balance Point”
At the 320Ah capacity level, internal cell temperatures can surpass 800°C, exceeding the decomposition temperature of lithium iron phosphate and posing challenges to cell safety, energy density, manufacturing processes, and more.
Cell R&D also faces the classic ‘impossible trinity’ of high energy density, long cycle life, and high safety. Energy density is a priority consideration in nearly all cell design. Pursuing higher energy density requires thinner membranes and high pressure and areal density electrode materials. On one hand, such extremities make liquid infiltration more difficult, undermining cycling performance. On the other hand, thinner membranes and higher energy density materials also mean poorer safety. There is no avoiding the trade-off between energy density and performance. Prioritizing energy density may jeopardize cycle life and safety. Whereas uncompromising cycle life and safety comes at the cost of lower energy density and weaker competitiveness. Most companies aim for a balanced sweet spot.
Cell manufacturers often tout cycle life figures of 6,000, 8,000, 10,000 even 18,000 based on specific controlled test conditions and model extrapolation. But actual cycle life is lower when cells are packaged into battery packs and deployed in energy storage systems. We expect a lifespan of about 3-18 years depending on the Depth of discharge, C rate, thermal and Battery Management put into place by each individual builder. That is a significant difference, because batteries are not invincible, but LiFePo4 is really versatile.
The 280Ah cells released in 2020 were produced by less than three manufacturers in 2021. Becoming mainstream in energy storage power stations in 2022, failure rate issues can be expected to surge around 2025 after initial installations complete their lifespan. Time will tell.
Safety Depends on Multiple Factors
Larger cells are a double-edged sword – cost reduction and accelerated market growth come with technical challenges and safety concerns. At the system level, safety depends on factors including cell design, thermal propagation isolation, early warning systems, fire prevention systems, and more.
Looking narrowly at the cell perspective, rising manufacturing automation enables producers to strengthen quality control capabilities. Meanwhile, breakthroughs in automated inspection equipment and methodologies screen cell safety before leaving factories.
Advancements in materials such as more thermally/chemically stable membrane systems and additives will also continuously improve battery safety and stability. But from an electrochemical standpoint, absolute safety remains elusive for lithium-ion batteries given inherent risks requiring mitigation through system design, monitoring, emergency response, and other management strategies. Therefore, a systematic approach will define future safety design.
All Alibaba/Aliexpress sellers will now only be able to supply B grade cells, this information has come directly from EVE themselves. This includes stores such as Shenzhen Qishou Technology Limited made famous in Australia by the Off Grid Garage. We know that these companies are already looking to replace the QR Codes of the B grade cells, to make them appear as A grade for the market. As they told us directly when we asked.
We have known for a long time that it was likely all cells on Alibaba are B grade or used cells. We just had no good way to prove this.
What we now know is that all cells on Alibaba that are EVE will be marked with the letter B. That stands for a B grade, and if it doesn’t, the QR will have been changed. EVE Energy has assured us, that they do not sell to any of the Alibaba suppliers any A-Grade product for battery storage. To ensure you are receiving A-grade cells you will need to purchase your cells at a higher price, from Lifepo4 Australia or our partners.
We have made the decision to work with both EVE and some Alibaba sellers on the B grade cells, that have been hand-picked to be the better quality of the B grade cells. As we know they can work in certain scenarios, especially for caravans and camping purposes.
We highly recommend anyone choosing their LIFEPO4 cells for home or commercial use buy only A-grade cells. Yes, they are a little more expensive however, the math will work out heavily in your favor over time. When you’re A grade cells are still performing after 1000 cycles, all the way to 6000 cycles as EVE and CATL claim their A grade cells can achieve.
We also know that all the CATL cells on Alibaba and Aliexpress are either used, or B grade, as CATL does not sell A grade cells to any of the battery manufacturers on Alibaba and Aliexpress.
Both EVE and CATL are professional LFP Prismatic manufacturers in China. CATL is the world’s largest battery manufacturer, and EVE is inside the TOP 10. Both companies work with car manufacturers, like Tesla, Geely, and Dongfeng Motors.
Both of these companies are poised for huge growth in the coming decade.
Both of these manufacturers have produced slightly different battery compositions to cater for either a high C rate discharge or a longer life low C rate prismatic cell. The LF280K from EVE is now widely respected and known to be of high quality.
CATL however, is not selling cells directly to the public, so all CATL cells are sold on the grey market, on places such as Alibaba, and Made in China. Many of these sellers, do sell B-grade cells, so you are taking a huge risk to purchase from these marketplaces.
EVE does allow the purchase of LFP cells directly to the public however, most people choose not to purchase from EVE because they don’t understand that a huge percentage (98%) of Alibaba and Aliexpress cells are actually B grade cells. They also have very complicated shipping procedures which are very difficult for the average person wot work with.
Model
Voltage
Capacity
Height
Length
Width
Weight (g)
LF50K
3.2v
50ah
185
135.3
29.3
1395
LF80
3.2v
80ah
170.5
130.3
36.7
1630
LF90K
3.2v
90ah
200.5
130.3
36.7
1970
LF100MA
3.2v
100ah
118.5
160
49.9
1920
LF105
3.2v
105ah
200.5
130.3
36.7
1980
LF173
3.2v
173ah
207
174
41
3250
LF230
3.2v
230ah
207.3
174
53.9
4110
LF280
3.2v
280ah
200
173.7
72
5220
LF280N
3.2v
280ah
200
173.7
72
5300
LF280K
3.2v
280ah
204.6
173.7
72
5420
LF304
3.2v
304ah
208.8
173.5
72
5490
Model
Voltage
Capacity
Height
Length
Width
Weight (g)
CB50
3.2v
50ah
135
175
30
1390
CB60
3.2v
60ah
220
135
29
1900
CB86
3.2v
86ah
133
173
47
2160
CB100
3.2v
100ah
170
200
34
2270
CB105
3.2v
105ah
167
200
34
2260
CB120
3.2v
120ah
170
174
48
2860
CB140
3.2v
140ah
171
200
46
3200
CB176
3.2v
176ah
205
174
54
3800
CB202
3.2v
202ah
201
174
54
4120
CB271
3.2v
271ah
207.2
174
71.7
5470
CB280
3.2v
280ah
207.2
174
71.7
5340
CB310
3.2v
310ah
208
174.5
72.5
5800
How to tell them apart visually
Let’s begin with the most common cell the 280ah capacity cells. The first thing you will notice is both have the QR code in the same location. However, the EVE cell has oval-shaped terminals and the CATL has circular. Genuine EVE cells will also state the cell model. eg LF280 or LF280K
According to the rules of QR code parsing, we know that the first three characters represent the vendor code.
Many customers emailed us asking if we have a list of vendor codes. Because there are two cases that need to know the vendor code.
1, You do not know the manufacturer of the LiFePO4 battery cell you are using.
2, You want to confirm whether the LiFePO4 battery cell you received is the one you are targeting.
Unfortunately, there is no official list of LiFePO4 battery cell vendor code so far.
We have maintained the following vendor code list based on our past experience, and hope it can help you identify the manufacturer of the battery cell.
LiFePO4 Battery Cell Vendor Code List
Manufacturer
Vendor Code
CATL
001
EVE
02Y
EVE Power
04Q
REPT
081
Lishen
08B
Ganfeng
0AL
CALB
0B5
Although this list does not cover all, but most of the popular LiFePO4 battery cell manufacturers on the market are on the list.
So you can identify which manufacturer your battery cell comes from based on the first 3 characters of the QR code on your LiFePO4 battery cell.
LiFePO4 SOC Voltage charts, charging & battery percentage explained.
LiFePO4 SOC means state of charge: the estimated percentage of charge remaining in your battery. A voltage reading helps, but it cannot reliably tell you that percentage through most of the battery’s range.
Use the rested voltage table for a quick reference, explore a measured test, or jump straight to monitor setup, charging and runtime.
A reading needs context
13.2 VHow full is that?
About halfway in our rested reference. Under load or while charging, the same number can tell a different story.
Use this as a practical orientation chart after charging and loads have stopped and the voltage has settled. These are the values from our rested SOC reference graphic. They are approximate, not charger targets or BMS protection settings.
13.2 V is around halfway in this 12 V reference. It is not proof of 50% SOC. In the flat middle, a small change in voltage can cover a wide capacity range.
For example, this table places 80% at 13.32 V and 40% at 13.16 V. That is just 0.16 V across 40 percentage points. Load, temperature, recent charging and the particular cells can easily change the interpretation.
For an installed battery: use this chart as a sense check. Use calibrated BMS/shunt data for the percentage, and cell-level measurements and alarms for protection.
Before reading the table: confirm the series count, stop charging and loads, and allow voltage to settle. “48 V lithium” is not automatically 16S LiFePO4.
These lookup points are an approximate practical guide, without a published controlled rest-test dataset. Their SOC estimates will vary between batteries and conditions.
See why conditions matter
Now compare charging and discharging
The chart below uses Off-Grid Garage’s measured EVE MB31 test. Unlike the rested reference, current is flowing. Explore the curves to see why a voltage table needs context. [1]
One cell. Two very different curves.
EVE MB31 · 40 A test · cell and calculated pack voltages
Measured data
ChargingDischarging
Test reference50%
Charging voltage13.37 V
Discharge voltage13.02 V
How to read this: percentages are normalised to each test’s measured capacity. Discharge runs from right to left; charge runs left to right. Pack voltages are cell voltage × series count, not a separate pack test. This is a dynamic test, not a rested-voltage lookup for your battery. Temperature was not stated. See test conditions and method.
The useful lesson: in this discharge test, moving from 80% to 40% changed the cell voltage by only about 0.05 V—about 0.20 V for four identical cells. A small voltage difference can hide a large amount of remaining capacity.
Show measured discharge samples: 12 V, 24 V and 48 V
These are samples from the 40 A discharge test above. The percentages refer to remaining measured test capacity. They are included so you can inspect the data, not use it as a universal fuel gauge.
EVE MB31 test reference · calculated pack equivalents
Test %
Cell
4S / 12 V
8S / 24 V
16S / 48 V
100%
3.611 V
14.44 V
28.89 V
57.78 V
90%
3.299 V
13.20 V
26.39 V
52.78 V
80%
3.297 V
13.19 V
26.38 V
52.75 V
70%
3.283 V
13.13 V
26.26 V
52.53 V
60%
3.262 V
13.05 V
26.10 V
52.19 V
50%
3.254 V
13.02 V
26.03 V
52.06 V
40%
3.247 V
12.99 V
25.98 V
51.95 V
30%
3.232 V
12.93 V
25.86 V
51.71 V
20%
3.203 V
12.81 V
25.62 V
51.25 V
10%
3.152 V
12.61 V
25.22 V
50.43 V
0%
2.510 V
10.04 V
20.08 V
40.17 V
The 100% sample is near the start of discharge after charging; it is not a rested full-charge voltage. The 0% sample is near the test endpoint, not a recommended everyday shutdown setting. Values are rounded from the underlying samples.
UNDER LOAD
Voltage falls
An inverter or other load pulls the voltage down. A bigger load can make the same battery look emptier on a voltage-only display.
WHILE CHARGING
Voltage rises
The charger pushes voltage up. Reaching a particular voltage does not, by itself, prove that the battery is full.
AFTER RESTING
Voltage settles
A resting reading removes the immediate load or charge effect. The flat middle and charge history still make an exact percentage unreliable.
02 / The numbers that matter
SOC, capacity and runtime are different things
SOC is a percentage of a capacity estimate. If a battery really has 100 Ah available and its SOC estimate is correct, 50% represents about 50 Ah remaining. That is charge, not a promise of a particular number of hours.
A 100 Ah battery and a 300 Ah battery can both show 50%. The larger battery holds roughly three times as much charge. Likewise, 100 Ah at 51.2 V represents four times the nominal energy of 100 Ah at 12.8 V.
Battery health changes the size of the tank. An ageing battery can reach 100% SOC while storing less than it did when new. Its monitor needs a realistic capacity basis to keep that percentage useful.
SOCState of charge: how full the estimated capacity is.
AhAmp-hours: charge capacity. Compare at the same voltage.
WhWatt-hours: energy. Approximately nominal volts × amp-hours.
SOHState of health: condition relative to new. Capacity is one measure; resistance and power capability also matter.
Series adds voltage. Parallel adds amp-hours. Four 100 Ah cells in series make a nominal 12.8 V, 100 Ah battery—not 400 Ah. Four compatible 12.8 V, 100 Ah batteries in parallel make a nominal 12.8 V, 400 Ah bank.
The arithmetic does not mean any batteries can be connected together. Completed batteries must support the intended series/parallel arrangement. A “48 V” label alone also does not confirm 16S; some LFP systems are 15S.
What does “100%” actually mean?
For a monitor, 100% is a reference point established by its full-charge detection rules or a manual reset. For a capacity test, it is the starting point under a specified charge procedure. For a complete battery, displayed SOC can also include manufacturer-defined reserves.
Those definitions need not be identical. A display reaching 100% is not proof that every cell is balanced, and a battery showing 95% is not automatically missing 5% of its rated capacity. Look at the measurement method, actual charge completion and usable energy.
03 / Get a reading you can use
How to measure LiFePO4 SOC accurately
Use a monitor that measures battery current and counts charge in and out. That may be built into the BMS, or it may be a separate shunt. A communicating BMS is useful only when its measurements are sound and the inverter is actually using its SOC data.
1. Measure all battery currentSolar, alternator, mains charger, inverter and smaller DC loads must be included in the measurement.
2. Use the right capacityCheck the battery or bank’s Ah rating and configuration. Revisit it if a valid test shows meaningful capacity loss.
3. Establish true fullSynchronise after the battery completes its proper charge procedure. Then let the monitor count from that reference.
Two jobs: measure energy flow and protect the cells. A shunt provides current measurement; the BMS supplies cell-level protection. This is a functional diagram, not a wiring plan. Select the image to enlarge.
A common shunt mistake is an unmeasured connection. In a negative-side shunt installation, a load or charger connected directly to battery negative bypasses the measurement. The monitor cannot count what it cannot see. Victron’s installation instructions put all system negatives on the system side of the shunt. [2]
Why SOC drifts
Current measurement has a small error; the configured capacity may be imperfect; charging is not perfectly efficient. Those errors accumulate. For example, a constant 0.1 A measurement error over seven days equals 16.8 Ah. On a 100 Ah reference, that is 16.8 percentage points.
This is why a shunt is not “fit and forget”. It needs sensible settings and occasional reliable synchronisation. The worked example is arithmetic, not a claim about the accuracy of any specific monitor.
Do you need a separate shunt?
Already have a reliable BMS SOC reading? A second monitor is optional. It can be useful for checking the system, but two displays can disagree because their capacity settings or reset rules differ.
Only have a voltage-based percentage? A correctly installed current-counting monitor is a substantial improvement. This is especially useful where several chargers or DC loads sit outside the inverter’s own measurement.
Practical SmartShunt setup: what each setting does
For a Victron SmartShunt, use the current manual and your battery’s charge procedure. These controls have separate jobs: [3][4]
Battery capacity: the Ah basis used to calculate percentage.
Charged voltage: the voltage condition for recognising full charge. It is not the charger’s voltage command.
Tail current: how low the current must fall while the voltage condition is met.
Charged detection time: how long those conditions must persist together.
Charge efficiency: compensation for the difference between charge put in and recovered.
Peukert exponent: correction for discharge-rate effects; Victron suggests 1.05 for lithium unless the supplier specifies otherwise.
Victron’s lithium guidance suggests 99% charge efficiency. Tail current must also suit a charger that terminates at its own current threshold. Those are device-specific starting points, not universal settings for every BMS.
Do not copy a lead-acid charged-voltage table into an LFP system without checking it. Select a full-detection condition that your completed LFP charge cycle can reliably meet, without allowing an ordinary partial solar charge to reset the monitor.
A worked full-charge detection example
Suppose a 100 Ah monitor has a 4% tail-current setting. Its current condition is below 4 A. If the charged-detection time is three minutes, the required voltage and current conditions must remain satisfied together for that period.
A passing cloud can also reduce solar current below 4 A. That does not mean the battery is full. This is why the voltage threshold and detection time matter alongside tail current. These numbers explain the logic; they are not a universal configuration prescription.
04 / Charge the battery, not the percentage
What voltage should you charge LiFePO4 to?
Use the charging profile for the completed battery. Cell voltage, charge current, time at that voltage and balancing behaviour work together. A charger reaching its target voltage does not necessarily mean the charge cycle has finished.
Charging sequence, illustrated rather than measured. Phase lengths and curves are not a timing or capacity specification. Real solar systems also respond to available sun and active loads. Select the image to enlarge.
Four voltage numbers that should not be confused
Number
What it means
What it does not tell you
Nominal voltage
A useful label: 3.2 V per LFP cell, or 12.8 / 25.6 / 51.2 V for 4S / 8S / 16S.
An exact resting voltage or percentage.
Charge / absorption target
The voltage the charger aims to hold for the relevant part of its cycle.
That every cell is full or balanced the instant it is reached.
Full-charge detection threshold
A condition the monitor or BMS uses to synchronise its SOC estimate.
An instruction for the charger to stop, unless that system explicitly uses it that way.
BMS overvoltage protection
A cell-level protection limit.
A normal charging target. Repeated trips need investigation.
A concrete manufacturer example
For its Lithium Battery Smart range, Victron recommends 14.2 V absorption and 13.5 V float for a 12.8 V battery, with corresponding values for larger series banks. Its balancing procedure also requires time in absorption; “LFP never needs absorption” is too broad. [5]
Victron Lithium Battery Smart example—not a universal LFP preset
Setting
4S / 12.8 V
8S / 25.6 V
16S / 51.2 V
Absorption
14.2 V
28.4 V
56.8 V
Float
13.5 V
27.0 V
54.0 V
Other batteries can use different profiles. A lower-voltage daily target can be appropriate, provided it still works with the battery’s full-charge detection and balancing. The long-life charging guide explains the 3.45, 3.50 and 3.55 V/cell options and how current limits interact with SOC and temperature.
Can I charge to 100%?
Yes, when the battery’s procedure allows it. Full charging can provide needed capacity and support synchronisation or balancing. That is different from holding a battery at a high charge voltage indefinitely.
Must I stay at 20–80%?
No. A narrower window is an operating choice, not a law of LFP chemistry. It trades usable capacity for gentler service. Select a reserve that fits your loads and recharge opportunities.
Does LFP need float?
It does not need lead-acid-style maintenance charging. A suitable float stage can still support ongoing system loads. Follow the intended battery/charger combination.
Balancing and SOC calibration are not the same thing
Calibration corrects the gauge; balancing addresses differences between cells. Resetting SOC to 100% does not move charge between cells. Changing a capacity setting does not fix a weak cell. A balancer also needs enough current and time to do its job.
Small cell-voltage differences in the flat middle do not prove equal SOC. Watch how the cells behave towards charge completion and under load. A cell that repeatedly reaches a limit before the others warrants checks of connections, measurements, balance and capacity. Do not solve a high-cell trip by raising its protection limit.
Cold charging: is 12°C a hard limit?
No. The 12°C cutoff in our long-life guide belongs to an optional conservative profile for repeated cold operation. It is not a universal manufacturer prohibition.
Actual limits depend on the battery. For example, Victron specifies charging its Lithium Battery Smart range between +5°C and +50°C. A different cell’s permitted temperature/current map does not override those completed-battery limits. [6]
Near or below freezing, use the battery’s explicit low-temperature procedure and protection. A heated battery must warm its cells before charging them outside their allowed range. Air temperature is not necessarily cell temperature.
Keep the distinction clear: manufacturer operating limits are boundaries; an extra longevity margin is a choice.
What really affects lifespan?
Temperature, time, charge/discharge conditions and the battery’s design all contribute. LFP ages while sitting as well as while cycling. Published research on LFP degradation shows that temperature changes the ageing mechanisms; there is no honest universal conversion from one cold charge to a fixed number of lost cycles. [7]
For everyday use: avoid unnecessary heat, repeated protection trips and leaving a discharged battery with parasitic loads attached. Use the capacity you need. If you choose a lower daily charge target, keep a deliberate plan for the full-charge events your battery requires.
For a cycle-life claim, ask for temperature, depth of discharge, rate and end-of-life capacity. “Thousands of cycles” without those conditions is incomplete information.
05 / Turn the percentage into something useful
How long will my battery last?
A runtime estimate needs capacity, voltage, the SOC you plan to use and the load. Enter those values below to estimate how long your load can run.
Battery runtime estimator
Constant AC load · nominal energy approximation · no charging during the estimate
Calculated example
About 6 h 55 min
768 Wh available above reserve; 111 W estimated battery draw.
Worked example: 12.8 V × 100 Ah × (80% − 20%) = 768 Wh above reserve. A 100 W AC load at 90% inverter efficiency draws about 111 W from the battery: roughly 6.9 hours, before any additional idle or DC loads.
Use an efficiency figure appropriate to the load. Add separate standby draw only if it is not already included in that figure. This does not check inverter surge rating, battery power limits, cold-temperature capacity or voltage shutdown. Fridges and other cycling loads need a measured average, not just their nameplate wattage.
The formula and its limits
Usable energy ≈ nominal V × actual Ah × (starting SOC − reserve SOC) / 100. Battery draw ≈ AC watts ÷ inverter efficiency + extra DC watts. Runtime ≈ usable energy ÷ battery draw.
Efficiency is a decimal in the formula: 90% = 0.90. The calculator estimates energy; it does not verify that the battery can supply the requested power. A BMS or inverter may shut down before the chosen SOC reserve is reached.
For a better estimate, log real watt-hours used over a representative day and compare them with usable battery energy. Direct measurement captures load cycling that a simple constant-load calculation misses.
06 / Find the cause
LiFePO4 SOC reading wrong? Start here.
Choose the symptom that matches your system. Check the measurement before changing a charging limit. The monitor’s own troubleshooting guide is the place to confirm model-specific behaviour. [8]
The percentage jumps to 100% during charging
First check whether the monitor has just synchronised. Record the voltage, actual battery current and the full-detection settings at the jump. If it happens partway through an ordinary charge, the trigger may be too easy to satisfy.
Also check the capacity setting. Do not immediately raise charge voltage to “make the percentage behave”. Establish whether the battery was actually full or the gauge simply reset.
The battery is charged, but the display never reaches 100%
Check whether the real charge cycle can satisfy the monitor’s voltage, tail-current and time conditions. A lower charge target, early charger termination or ongoing loads can prevent the expected full-detection event.
Confirm the manufacturer’s charge procedure has completed before a manual reset. Repeated manual resets can hide the underlying configuration error.
The inverter and BMS show different percentages
Find out where each number comes from. The inverter may be estimating from voltage, reading another monitor or receiving BMS data through a selected protocol. Compare timestamps, communication status and capacity settings.
Choose the intended SOC source in the system configuration. Matching two displayed numbers is less useful than confirming that one sound measurement controls the right decisions.
The battery switches off while SOC still looks healthy
Read the BMS and inverter event logs. Look for low-cell voltage, overcurrent, temperature, communication loss or inverter undervoltage. Check cell spread and voltage under the actual load.
A healthy-looking percentage cannot override a cell hitting its limit. A loose connection, an unbalanced or weak cell, high load or an inaccurate gauge can all produce this symptom. Diagnose the logged cause; do not bypass the protection.
The percentage barely changes, or moves the wrong way
Compare the measured current with a known charge or load. Confirm direction, shunt orientation and that all current paths pass through the sensor. A wrong Ah capacity makes the percentage move too slowly or too quickly.
Never disconnect a high-current circuit just to test the display. Use the equipment’s normal controls and an appropriate commissioning procedure.
Voltage rises after switching the inverter off
That is usually voltage recovery after removing a load, not newly created charge. The immediate voltage drop and slower polarisation effects relax once current falls.
If a voltage-based percentage also rises, it may be following that voltage recovery. A current-counting monitor should not interpret the voltage rebound alone as a large amount of charge entering the battery.
Before asking for help, collect: battery/BMS model, series count, charger/inverter model, SOC source, pack voltage, highest and lowest cell voltage, battery current, cell temperature and the relevant alarm. A screenshot with these readings is much more useful than “the battery says 50%”.
07 / For readers who want the mechanism
Why LiFePO4 SOC is difficult to estimate
The flat voltage plateau and measurement sensitivity
An SOC estimator tries to infer an internal state from measurements. Voltage feedback becomes weak where the open-circuit voltage (OCV)–SOC curve is flat: a small error in voltage, temperature correction or model parameters can imply a large error in SOC.
This is an observability problem, not simply a need for a voltmeter with more decimal places. The measured curve above illustrates the practical difficulty, although a dynamic curve includes effects that an OCV model treats separately.
Accurate estimation therefore combines current integration, a capacity model and useful reference events. More advanced estimators can also use temperature-dependent models and filtering. The objective is a plausible state estimate, not an exact percentage derived from a single voltage sample. [9]
Resistance, relaxation and hysteresis are related but different
Under discharge, a simple model is terminal voltage ≈ OCV − I × R − polarisation. Charging changes the direction of those current-related terms. Remove the load and some voltage recovers quickly; other processes relax more slowly.
Hysteresis adds dependence on charge/discharge history. It is not the same thing as the immediate I × R drop, and “rested” is not one universal number of minutes. The rest protocol, temperature and required accuracy must be defined before comparing OCV measurements.
Our charge/discharge plot does not isolate these mechanisms. It shows their combined practical effect during the recorded tests. Analog Devices’ LFP fuel-gauging note explains how a flat voltage curve and hysteresis complicate estimation. [10]
Coulomb counting: the useful equation
For discharge, ignoring secondary corrections:
SOC change (percentage points) = −100 × ∫ I dt / C.
Use hours for time and Ah for capacity C, with discharge current positive. Charging adds charge, with an appropriate efficiency correction. Current offset, missed loads, a wrong capacity basis and unobserved self-discharge can each accumulate into error.
A full-charge reference corrects accumulated estimation error. It does not establish the battery’s usable capacity on its own; capacity measurement needs a defined charge/discharge test.
Why average pack voltage can miss a cell problem
Pack voltage is the sum of cell voltages. A sum does not tell you how those values are distributed. As an arithmetic example, a four-cell pack at 13.2 V could consist of four cells at 3.30 V, or one at 3.00 V and three at 3.40 V.
The total is identical; the cell-level situation is not. That is why a BMS monitors individual series groups and why pack SOC should be considered alongside highest/lowest cell voltage, temperature and active limits.
Why there is no voltage-to-SOC calculator on this page
Entering “13.2 V” and receiving “67%” would look helpful. Without the cell model, current, temperature, history and a validated model, the precision would be unjustified.
Instead, the chart lets you inspect an identified experiment, and the runtime calculator makes its assumptions visible. When a measurement cannot answer the question reliably, understanding that limitation is useful information.
08 / Inspect the evidence
Sources, chart data and editorial method
This guide combines manufacturer documentation, independently published measurements and worked calculations. The Off-Grid Garage test was not performed by LiFePO4 Australia. Illustrations explain a mechanism; they are not laboratory results. Prepared with AI-assisted writing and charting; sources and calculation methods are provided for inspection.
Exactly how the measured chart was prepared
The source is Off-Grid Garage’s EVE MB31 test using a ZKE-Tech EBC-A40L. The published method charges with a 40 A limit to 3.65 V, ending near 15.3 A, then discharges at 40 A to 2.5 V. The CSV headers report 329.70 Ah charged and 330.60 Ah discharged. Temperature was not stated.
The prepared dataset integrates current against time and samples at 1% intervals. Charging is expressed as charge put in relative to the charge-test total; discharging as charge remaining relative to the discharge-test total. They are independent normalisations, not an independent measurement of absolute electrochemical SOC.
Lines connect those samples without smoothing. Four-, eight- and sixteen-cell views multiply the cell voltage by series count. No cell variation, cable drop or pack imbalance is simulated. The endpoints are test boundaries, not normal operating recommendations.
Revision: 5 September 2026. Retained the practical rested SOC reference and added an attributed measured comparison; added chart exploration, runtime calculations, troubleshooting and clearer distinctions between charging targets, calibration and protection.